I walk my hands cold. My eyes glance down across the harbor the full moon rendering it a silver streak. The yellow lights flash their lines across it like some postmodern landscape. My head is filled with thoughts of jazz filled yesterdays that flood my memory. Have I been in this town to long I know it’s every curve it every back street that you walk in a vain attempt to avoid as many people as possible. I feel at home in this town but the hunger for anonymity seems to call me. The freedom to discover a land anew.

This town always amazes me, with what is produced here. (I aint talking about coal.) I feel almost spoilt to have seen the ebb and flow of culture in this town. The stuff that “pumps my nads[1]…” is the stuff that is made on lounge room floors, in bedrooms and on street corners. This town seems to be teeming with underground art. Zines, music and stencils seem to be flowing forth. If you look real close you will start to see patterns forming as in all nature.

This town can get me down but when I stop to think and look at how much life there really is in this place I start to smirk and feel smug. I do truly live in “paradise city[2].”

[1] John bender (Judd nelson) speaking to Clair Standish (molly ringwald) about Mol-yare (moliere) in the movie by john Hughes the breakfast club.

2Taken from the guns n’ roses song “paradise city” from the album “Appetite For Destruction”

“Take me down

To the paradise city

Where the grass is green

And the girls are pretty

Take me home

(Oh, won’t you please take me home) x2

Just a’ urchin livin’ under the street…”



[1] John bender (Judd nelson) speaking to Clair Standish (molly ringwald) about Mol-yare in the movie by john Hughes the breakfast club.

[2]Taken from the guns and roses album “Appetite For Destruction”

“Take me down

To the paradise city

Where the grass is green

And the girls are pretty

Take me home

(Oh, won’t you please take me home) x2

Just a’ urchin living’ under the street…”

~ by abagash on September 10, 2004.

Leave a Reply

 
